biography_square button_minus button_plus close_artbutton exhibitionarrow_left exhibitionarrow_right follow_button home_sq-artefacetsViewArtefacts home_sq-exhibitionViewExhibitions home_sq-sqaureSupportUs home_sq-uploadUploadArtefact artist dj keyword_3 industry keyword_member magglass newburger onthisday_button profileicon randomiser_button reload_button soundcloud twitter uploadbutton zoom_in

More Fool You

'More Fool You' were formed in late 1990, in South Manchester. Initially formed around the trio of Dave Grindrod (keyboards), Sean Roache (keyboards, samples & effects), and Darran Pritchard (drums & percussion), before being joined by Gary Morris (guitar & vocals), Steve Jones (bass & lead vocals), Nicky Cunningham (art & visuals), Des Nia (MC & vocals), Mike Comer and Sloane Dunlop on percussion (3 members of 'Community Charge'). For a brief spell during autumn 1992, Ian Fletcher (from 'Slow Bongo Floyd') replaced Gary on guitar, before Gary returned to the fold in early 1993. Sharing a background in the Manchester Punk scene, plus a shared love of Dub, Electronica and experimental music, and being in the midst of the Madchester era renowned for it's 'cross over' mentality, More Fool You set about creating their own style of cross over music........and unlike most of their Mancunian contemporaries at the time: no jangly 60's 'West Coast America' guitar sounds or Balearic beats were evident! Preferring the influence of 70's British and European experimental acts such as Hawkwind, Can, Kraftwerk and Yello, and favouring the more underground sounds of Adrian Sherwood's 'On-U Sound' label to the mainstream Ibizan sounds of the day, More Fool You stuck to ploughing their own furrow. Though no recorded output was ever available, they became firm local favourites on the local underground scene with numerous gigs in Manchester between 1991 - 1995, alongside such acts as Community Charge, Head Ritual, Poisoned Electric Head and Back To The Planet and many others, before calling it a day in summer 1995. (Submitted 10.10.08 by Darran & Gill Pritchard)